Wheat is probably most commonly considered as an ingredient in baked goods, as all-purpose flour contains wheat. For that reason, a person with a wheat allergy needs to avoid most baked goods. However, wheat is a common ingredient in many non-baked goods too. It is important to read labels when dealing with a wheat allergy, as there are some unexpected products that contain wheat. The following is a list of some of them.

  • Some types of sauces
  • Some types of hot dogs
  • Some types of ice cream
  • Some types of potato chips
  • Playdoh

Since wheat is the most common grain in the United States, and is used extensively in baking, people who are preparing food for wheat allergic people might find alternatives to wheat flour helpful, especially when baking. One cup of wheat flour can be replaced with one of the following:

  • 7/8 cup rice flour
  • 5/8 cup potato starch flour
  • 1 cup soy flour plus1/4 cup potato starch flour
  • 1 cup corn flour

It should be noted that Celiac Disease is different than a wheat allergy. People with Celiac Disease react to gluten, which is not only found in wheat, but also in other grains, such as barley, rye, and oats.

Source: foodallergy.org